5th December 2017

12 cars made the journey to Narrogin Speedway on Saturday night for Round 3 of the 2017/18 LSA Club Championship.


Damien Joyce, Jamie Langdon and Ant Dye were all making their first appearance for this season, with Ant electing to play his double points card.


The night didn't start well for Jamie Langdon who hurt his new motor in hot laps.


The opening heat of the night saw Brendon Condren jump the start on the first attempt to get going. On the 2nd attempt he got away beautifully until Daryl Borgas brought the caution lights on by spinning in turn 2. With another full restart required, it was Ross Atkinson who made the better start and took the lead from P2. Ant Dye slipped into 2nd until lap 4 when Atkinson went wide on the exit of turn 2 and Dye pounced to take the lead and never looked back to take the win from Shayne Langdon, Atkinson, Condren, Jason Craig and Daryl Borgas.


Heat 2 saw the returning Damien Joyce start in pole position with Benny Migro on his outside. Migro got the better start and led to victory from the opening lap, constantly been challenged by current state champion Brett Barndon. Alex Williams finished 3rd, Glenn Dickinson 4th and Joyce 5th.


Heat 3 saw Shayne Langdon and Dickinson start from the front row. It took a while for this heat to get going as first Langdon jumped the start, then Borgas spun on turn 4 of the next attempt, then Dickinson jumped the next start. On the 4th attempt to start the race, Borgas spun again in turns 1 and 2 and therefore was parked on the infield. Finally this heat got underway and Atkinson went infield in turns 3 and 4 with a fuel issue at the end of the first lap. Langdon won the heat from Barndon, Dickinson and Joyce.


The final heat of the night saw Alex Williams inherit starting on pole position next to good mate Jason Craig as a result of Jamie Langdon's early exit with engine woes. The first start saw Benny Migro get out of shape in turn 1 bringing on the cautions. With a full restart on the cards, Dye and Condren both got the better start from the 2nd row, getting by Williams and Craig with Craig spinning infield on lap 2 in turns 3 & 4 bringing up a huge amount of dust so the yellow lights came on again. After the re-start Dye led until the checkered flag fell winning his 2nd heat for the night from Condren, Migro, Craig and Williams.


With the heats all done and dusted the top 6 drivers on points went into a 6 lap dash to determine the starting grid positions for the feature race. Dye and Langdon earning themselves the front row of the dash. With one lap down in the dash, Dickinson went too high in turn 1 ending up in the wall with front end damage. At the restart, Dye led Langdon and Migro until Migro ducked underneath Langdon in turn 1. The top 3 stayed that way with Barndon finishing 4th and Condren 5th.


Glenn Dickinson and his crew with help from Alex Williams, Mick Doble, Ross Atkinson and others went about repairing the damage to the #26 to get it ready for the feature which they managed to do.


With Dye choosing to start from the inside for the feature he got the preferred start and led Migro. Barndon drifted high on the opening lap as Condren got by him and Langdon for 3rd. A few laps went by and Barndon passed Langdon for 4th and further back Atkinson passed Craig. With visibility hard for all drivers, Dye looked comfortable in the lead until about half race distance when Borgas slammed into the main straight wall bringing on the yellow lights. At the same time, Dye suffered a steering box failure and spun in turn 2. Dye tried to re-start but went infield before the lights went green again.


At the restart, Migro now had the lead from Condren, Barndon, Langdon, Dickinson, Williams, Joyce, Atkinson and Craig. The order remained the same at the front for the final 10 laps as Benny Migro won his 2nd round of the series from Brendon Condren in 2nd and Brett Barndon in 3rd. Both Joyce and Atkinson got by Alex Williams after the restart to increase their finishing positions to 6th and 7th respectively.


Feature Race Hard Charger Award: Ross Atkinson


Ant Dye takes home the Hard Luck Award (kindly donated by Racemate Storage Solutions) for finishing his night on the infield after looking like he would be tough to beat whilst in the lead of the feature. This was after earlier in the night winning both his heat races as well as the Top 6 Dash.