6th March 2017

Mick Doble made it back to back feature race wins by winning the prestigious Krikke Boys Shootout at Bunbury Speedway last night. Doble started on pole for the feature and was never headed from the get go, winning from Brendon Dickinson, Ant Dye, Paul Fiedler, Daryl Borgas, Ross Atkinson, Grant Atkinson, Tahni Doble and Mark Williamson.


On the initial start of the feature race, Anthony Gaudio tried to park his Sprintcar back in his truck by slamming into the turn 3 wall and catchfence and then flipping dramatically.


So with it being a complete restart, Doble took the lead from Benny Migro, Dye and Ross Atkinson.


Dickinson having an impressive run got past both Atkinson and Dye and then set off after Migro. Further back Gavin Davis spun in pits bend and Mark Williamson stopped his machine to avoid a head on collision.


At this restart Doble still led from Migro, Dickinson, Dye, Ross Atkinson and Fiedler. Dickinson got past Migro for 2nd and was looking strong. A few laps later David Sudholz spun in turn 4 to bring on the caution lights. After the restart Migro would head infield with a mechanical problem and Dye was happy to inherit 3rd.


A good battle was been had further back in the pack between Alex Williams, Borgas, Ross and Grant Atkinson, Tahni Doble, Williamson and Sudholz. Unfortunately Williams also headed infield and when Sudholz ended up in the Turn 3 wall the race was declared over with Mick Doble very happy to again be on the top step of the podium.


Earlier in the night heat 1 saw Mick Doble win from Grant Atkinson who was showing some excellent early speed and Brendon Dickinson. Danny Attwood crossed the line in 6th but was relegated to 9th as a result of contact with David Sudholz in turn 4 late in the race.

Heat 2 saw Glenn Dickinson not making it to take up his front row starting position so that went to Tahni Doble. It wasn't to be a good heat for the Davis' brothers with Gavin parked on the lawn and then Tim and Todd coming together in pitsbend, both rolling over spectacularly and damaging the catch fence. It was good to see both drivers walk away from that heavy hit. In the end Ross Atkinson won from Benny Migro and Tahni Doble.


Heat 3 saw Anthony Gaudio start off the front row and win from Benny Migro and Paul Fiedler. Danny Attwood was in 2nd place but with 1 lap to go pulled up with power plant issues.


Ant Dye took the win in the last heat of the night from the returning Daryl Borgas and Mick Doble.


The championship series now takes a break until 8th April in Narrogin to allow for the running of the State Title in Geraldton on 1st April







Picture (Aidan Skraha Productions) : Mick Doble made it back to back feature race wins by winning the prestigious Krikke Boys Shootout at Bunbury Speedway.