3rd January 2017

Marshall McDiarmid won Round 5 of the LSA Season Championship at the 2017 Sprintcar Muster at the Perth Motorplex on 1st January 2017, setting a new 15 lap record in the process. McDiarmid started the feature race in pole position with Mick Doble on his outside after both drivers had had a 1st and 4th in their respective heat races. The second row saw Benny Migro start from position 3 and Ant Dye from P4. The opening few laps of the feature saw McDiarmid and Doble race side by side in an excellent display of clean racing. McDiarmid managed to get clear of Doble and set-off to chase victory. Doble never gave up and Benny chased hard to catch and pass Mick for 2nd in the midst of lapped traffic. Dye wasn’t so lucky and was forced infield mid race. Anthony Gaudio finished in 4th, Paul Fiedler 5th, Tim Davis 6th after starting 12th, then Grant Atkinson 7th, Tahni Doble 8th, Mark Williamson 9th and Kevan Grant rounding out the top 10.



Due to the good number of nominations for this event, the structure for the night was to have 3 heats and a feature race with each car starting in 2 of the 3 heats. The heat races were a mixed bag with plenty of restarts and incidents, with the first 2 heats been declared as a result. McDiarmid, one of 7 drivers contesting their first club points round for the season made the decision to make this his double points round and it turned out to be a good choice!



Heat 1 saw McDiarmid win from Gaudio, Tim Davis and Mick Doble who did a good job from the back of the field.

Heat 2 had Glenn Dickinson start on the front row and immediately pulled infield after the start of the race, causing a little bit of havoc behind him as cars ducked and dived. Unfortunately, it was the end of the night for Dickinson, another luckless event for him. Sean Zemunik would win this heat race from Ant Dye in 2nd and Benny Migro in 3rd.



Mick Doble won heat 3 from Benny Migro and the father son combination of Paul and Shane Fiedler in third and fourth, both of whom having their first run for the season. An impressive drive by Shane in his first run in the division. Unfortunately for Tim Davis he didn’t finish this heat due to running out of fuel, a consequence of the multiple restarts. Earlier in this heat saw #96 Ross Atkinson and #72 Sean Zemunik make contact coming out of turn 2 with both cars tumbling spectacularly down the back straight. Both drivers were unhurt but unfortunately that wasn’t the case for their cars with both unable to start the feature race.



Pic (L-R) 3rd Mick Doble, 1st Marshall McDiarmid, 2nd Benny Migro