28th November 2016

Benny Migro claimed victory on Saturday night at the Perth Motorplex King of Wings event in an awesome display of driving to track conditions in the main event.


Earlier in the night it was Sean Zemunik winning  the opening heat after starting on the front row alongside Gavin Davis. The pair got away to a good start before Davis pulled up his machine whilst running in second 5 laps into the race with a hurt motor. He joined Glenn Dickinson on the infield who also suffered powerplant problems and thus both having an early end to their night. After the restart, Zemunik was never headed taking the heat win from Migro and Anthony Gaudio.


The second heat saw reigning joint club champions Tim Davis and Ben Migro start on the front row. Davis got the jump before Migro slipped by for the lead, but it wasn't long before Zemunik joined the party. Further back saw Mick Doble and Paul Flint tangle with both ending up on the lawn with significant damage for Flint. Anthony Gaudio spun on the last lap bringing on the caution lights and thus the race was declared giving Zemunik his 2nd heat win for the night from Migro in second and Tim Davis in third.


The 1-2 finishes in the heats for Zemunik and Migro set up a front row battle between the pair for the feature race with Zemunik choosing to start on the outside. On the opening lap of the feature Mick and Tahni Doble came together ending Tahni's night. Migro took the lead when things got underway and was never challenged.

Zemunik spun with 6 laps to go whilst running 2nd and from the starting the restart at the rear of the field did well to finish on the podium in third. Tim Davis chased hard in the feature but had no answer for Benny and had to be happy taking home second place.


Round 4 of the championship heads to Margaret River Speedway on 10th December 2016.


LSA 2016/17 Season Points (after Round 3)

#43 Anthony Gaudio 194
#72 Sean Zemunik 190
#79 Benny Migro 163
#15 Alan Chapman 146*
#26 Glenn Dickinson 132
#44 Brendon Dickinson 116*
#40 Mick Doble 80
#42 Tahni Doble 78
#32 Steven Kendall 72
#153 Tim Davis 66
#7 Kevan Grant 54
#3 Sam Miller 42
#64 Paul Flint 14
#8 Gavin Davis 0

*Drivers that have played their double points round